On my way

Hello all,

Adam Thompson, Ian Anderson and I are leaving for Kano, Nigeria on Wednesday! We will arrive in Kano on June 25th. All three of us will be staying in Kano for a week to do some tech work with dRPC. Then, I will be traveling a few hours south to Kaduna to stay for the rest of my internship. I will be living with Dr. Mairo Mandara and her husband Dr. Usman Bugaje. I will begin my internship working for Mairo’s NGO, Girl Child Concerns, creating a website and helping young girls increase their tech skills. Then, I will begin working with Shehu Makarfi to determine ways to integrate mobile technologies into his curriculum at his teaching hospital in Kaduna. One of my main side projects is to research the way technology is being used in the health industry and work on connecting hospitals with hospitals and connecting doctors with hospitals using mobile media tools.

Thank you so much for being interested in my project. I will be blogging throughout my internship about my activities, experiences, and ideas. I will also be uploading pictures and videos.  I would love to hear any comments or suggestions you have throughout my project!

Thanks again for all of your support!

7 Responses

  1. OK Evelyn, good luck and I’ll be following you on Twitter! Love, Uncle Cliff

  2. Safe travels!! Love you. M-Tina

  3. Hi Evelyn,

    Good luck, hope you have a great time and learn a lot.

    Stay safe!!

    Mark Rippy

  4. We love you and we know you are going to have a fantastic time in Nigeria! What an adventure. Take notes, you’ll have lots of stories to tell and you’ll have to tell them many times!

    Take good care of yourself and be safe.

    Love you always! Uncle Randy, Moster Jana, Korrin and Reed.

  5. Sounds like a great experience

  6. Despite what you may think, your mom was an enthusiastic supporter at the Family Reunion. Judith & I will follow your travels.
    Keep safe and keep up the good work.

    Michael Randolph & Judith Redding

  7. Maybe your uncle Cliff can help you with technology there. Audix mikes in the hospitals!!
    I think he has not been to Africa before!
    Since Marlene is anxious to go to Africa, you have to give her report.
    Perhaps we can have a family reunion where you can educate us on your exploits.

Leave a Reply

